Four University of Michigan faculty members have been named to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences for their significant contributions in scholarly and professional fields.

The academy announced April 28 that U-M professors Nicholas Kotov, Khaled Mattawa, Vonnie McLoyd and Sijue Wu were among this year’s election of 261 new members. They continue a tradition of recognizing accomplishments and leadership in academia, the arts, industry, public policy and research.

McLoyd is the Ewart A. C. Thomas Collegiate Professor of Psychology, professor of psychology and professor emerita of AfroAmerican and African studies in LSA.Her research investigates the role of parental behavior and family relations in two areas: as paths through which economic conditions such as poverty, parental job loss, and parental work characteristics exert their influence on youth’s socioemotional adjustment; and as processes that protect youth from, or increase youth’s vulnerability to, the effects of experiences in peer and neighborhood contexts known to compromise socioemotional adjustment.

Read the full article at the University Record.