The Psychology Diversity Committee is pleased to announce the awardees of the 2021 Department of Psychology Faculty and Student Diversity Awards. These awards are supported by a Faculty Allies for Diversity grant awarded to our department from the Rackham Graduate School.

Each year, one or more graduate students and a faculty member are recognized for their outstanding research that addresses important issues related to diversity, including questions pertaining to ethnicity, race, gender, sexual orientation, and/or socioeconomic status, and basic research on topics relevant to understanding human diversity.  In addition, one or more graduate students are recognized for their engagement in outstanding service activities that promote diversity, equity, and inclusion. This year, the Department is also pleased to announce the new Diversity Teaching Award, which one of more graduate students will receive for teaching that makes an important contribution to deepening their students’ understanding of issues related to diversity, equity, inclusion, and justice.

Faculty Diversity Research Award

Craig Rodriguez-Seijas won the 2021 Faculty Diversity Research Award for his paper titled “Is There a Bias in the Diagnosis of Borderline Personality Disorder Among Lesbian, Gay, and Bisexual Patients?”


Student Diversity Research Awards

Two graduate students received Student Diversity Research Awards this year:

  • Maira Areguin for her paper “Reaping What They Sow: A Critical Race Perspective on Environmental Microaggressions Toward Latinx Farmworkers.”
  • Allura Casanova for her paper “Positive Social Support Among Black College Men”
Maira Areguin
Allura Casanova


Student Diversity Teaching Awards

Two graduate students received Student Diversity Research Awards this year, and one graduate student received an honorable mention:

  • Will Beishchel (winner)
  • Tangier Davis (winner) 
  • Hannah Baumgartner (honorable mention)
Will Beischel
Tangier Davis
Hannah Baumgartner


Student Diversity Service Awards

Two graduate students received Student Diversity Service Awards this year:

  • Andrea Belgrade
  • Sarah Stilwell
Andrea Belgrade
Sarah Stillwell