Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Hagen-Stevenson Dissertation Research Award


The Hagen-Stevenson Dissertation Award is awarded annually to a doctoral student who is pursuing a dissertation in developmental psychology within the Developmental Area of the University of Michigan Department of Psychology (including students in combined or joint programs or pursuing joint degrees). The award is named for John Hagen, professor emeritus, and Harold Stevenson, an esteemed late colleague, and is available due to the generous gift to the Department of Psychology from Robert V. Kail, Distinguished Professor of Psychology at Purdue University. He was a student of both Hagen and Stevenson and continues to have close ties with our faculty and program.

The award includes $1200 to be used to facilitate the doctoral dissertation.

The goal of the award is to support excellent research in basic processes of development. Research that includes implications for development within real-world and applied situations such as families, schools, cultural and international contexts is especially appropriate, given the work and values of the faculty for whom this award is named. Graduate students must be nominated by a Developmental Area faculty member, typically their dissertation chair or a member of their dissertation committee. Students are encouraged to discuss being nominated with their faculty mentor/advisor.

Who should apply?

Any graduate student in the Developmental Psychology Area who may require funding to conduct their dissertation research

Application Procedures

Nominees who wish to be considered must submit a copy of the Approval of Dissertation Prospectus Form (in draft or accepted form) which is located on the Student Resources page, a 3 to 4 page summary of the goals and methods of their dissertation research, and a letter of endorsement from the chair of their dissertation committee. The nomination form must also be completed, with background information and an outline of how the funds will be used.

Please submit these materials electronically as a single PDF to If you have any questions about this award, please contact Dr. Vonnie McLoyd (

Application Deadline: December 7, 2017