Professor Rick Hall was just awarded APSA's Barbara Sinclair Award, for his career contributions to the understanding of legislative politics. Rick is the third (ever!) recipient of the award.

The Barbara Sinclair Award and Lectureship recognizes achievement in promoting understanding of the U.S. Congress and legislative politics.

The award commemorates the life and scholarship of renowned scholar of legislative politics, Barbara Sinclair. Barbara Sinclair taught at the University of California, Riverside, and University of California, Los Angeles, and was a member of the 1978-1979 class of APSA Congressional Fellows. She served her fellowship placement with House Majority Leader Jim Wright of Texas. She published the seminal work Majority Leadership in the U.S. House after her fellowship year and authored landmark studies of Congress throughout her career. Dr. Sinclair left a lasting mark not only for her scholarship but also for her service to the discipline. She was a dedicated mentor to new groups of scholars and served for many years as a member of the Congressional Fellowship Program Advisory Committee.

Each year a speaker is selected to deliver the Barbara Sinclair Lecture, held at American University during the orientation of the Congressional Fellowship Program. The lecture brings together scholars, members of the Congressional Fellowship Program community, students, and practitioners in the DC area to honor Dr. Sinclair. The lecture and speaker honorarium are co-sponsored by the Center for Congressional and Presidential Studies, at American University's School of Public Affairs.  

Richard L. Hall is University of Michigan Professor of Political Science and Public Policy. His research focuses on American national politics. He has studied participation and representation in Congress, congressional committees, congressional retirements, campaign finance reform, legislative oversight, and lobbying in Congress.