The Big Ten Voting Challenge Team, from left, is Dave Waterhouse, Erin Byrnes, Edie Goldenberg, Alton B. H. Worthington and Logan Woods. (Photo by Austin Thomason, Michigan Photography)

The University of Michigan Big Ten Voting Challenge Team has received a 2019 University of Michigan Staff Impact Award! The team includes Department of Political Science members Edie Goldenberg (Professor of Political Science and Public Policy), Alton B.H. Worthington (PhD, U-M Political Science, 2019), and Logan Woods (U-M Political Science Doctoral Student). The team was recognized by President Mark Schlissel for innovative contributions to the university.

The Big Ten Voting Challenge aims to increase the number of eligible student voters across the country and encourage participation at the polls for all elections. Each of the 14 schools within the Big Ten Conference is competing in the Challenge. Two winners will be honored in fall 2019: the campus with the greatest overall turnout in 2018, and the campus with the greatest growth in turnout from 2014 to 2018.