Authur F. Thurnau Professor and Associate Professor of Political Science, Philosophy, and Honors Program, Mika LaVaque-Manty was appointed as Presidental Bicentennial Professor by university President, Mark Schlissel. Schlissel announced the appointment of five professors on January 25, 2016 at a meeting of the faculty's Senate Assembly along with the plans of three colloquia exploring topics related to the university's future. The selected professors will organize and oversee the colloquia and related activities. 

LaVaque-Manty will share the third colloquia with Professor Joanna M. Millunchick. Their topic is "The Future Place of the University" and will take place in October 2017. See description below:

"Exploring the meaning behind being a place-based, residential university entering its third century, this colloquium examines what is special and unique about the residential experience — bringing together students, faculty and staff from different areas and putting them next to one another.

mika It explores the multiple functions of the university and how the university’s learning experiences can be designed to take advantage of the co-location of different people and different functions. What are the various places of the university — locally, national and globally — and how do they fit together in an overall mission?

How do we create places designed for third-century learning and pursuit of knowledge, and how should the physical places and spaces of the university link to the digital spaces of the university?"

For more information regarding these appointments and the university's Bicentennial celebration, see Record article.