Andrei S. Markovits, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Karl W. Deutsch Collegiate Professor of Comparative Politics and German Studies, has been honored with the department's Tronstein Award. His enthusiasm, individual attention to students, and wisdom generated literally hundreds of words of praise from students in several of Markovits' courses.

This award recoginizes excellence in undergraduate teaching. The department received thirty-nine nominations for ten faculty members. The student comments illustrated that this department consists of many thoughtful, committed teachers. 

Undergraduate Affairs Committee members, Mark Dincecco, Edie Goldenberg, and Mika La Vaque-Manty evaluated the nominations, syllabi, and teaching evaluations to make the decision. The committee would like to acknowledge Jenna Bednar, Jowei Chen, and Nick Valentino, whom students praised for engaging courses and classroom styles. In addition, the committee was impressed by the excellent work of Charles Adside and Anne Manuel in their courses.