Two Physics Faculty were named Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS.)  Fellowship in the society is provided to distinguished members of the Association, with fellows elected annually by the AAAS Council for "efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications [which] are scientifically or socially distinguished". 

Roberto Daniel Merlin, Peter A. Franken Collegiate Professor of Physics, For investigation of condensed matter systems using continuous wave and ultrafast optical techniques and, in particular, spontaneous and impulsive (stimulated) Raman spectroscopy.


Mark Newman, Paul A. M. Dirac Collegiate Professor of Physics, For distinguished contributions to the field of network theory and the application of statistical mechanics methods to reveal the underlying topological structure of network systems.