U-M Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Physics August Evrard was elected a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) this year (2011) for “groundbreaking work in simulations of large-scale structure with particular emphasis on theory of galaxy clusters.” He was nominated by the Division of Astrophysics.

Two former students were also elected Fellows. Cynthia Reichhardt (Condensed Matter Physics) was elected for “characterization of collective phenomena in driven systems with long-range interactions…” and Charles Reichhardt (Division of Computational Physics) was elected for “seminal work on the dynamics of collectively interacting particles on random or periodic substrates…” They each received a Ph.D. in Physics from the University of Michigan in 1998 with direction from advisor Professor Franco Nori. They are presently staff members at the Los Alamos National Laboratory.