Laura Ruetsche, Louis Loeb Collegiate Professor of Philosophy at the University of Michigan, has been elected as a new member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The group's membership consists of world leaders in the arts and sciences, business, philanthropy, and public affairs.  New members are nominated and elected on the basis of "excellence in the field and a record of continued accomplishment," according to the Academy website.

Professor Ruetsche is one of three Michigan LSA faculty members elected to the Academy this year.  

More information, and a complete list of newly elected fellows, are available on the American Academy of Arts and Sciences website.