Sarah Buss has been recognized with the 2013 John Dewey Award for long-term commitment to the education of undergraduate students. David Manley and Sarah Moss have been recognized with the 2013 Class of 1923 Memorial Teaching Award for outstanding teaching of undergraduates. 

These are especially meaningful awards because the winners are selected each year by the College Executive Committee from among those recommended for promotion. The Dewey recognizes those promoted to full professor; the Class of 1923 Award recognizes those promoted to associate professor with tenure who have demonstrated outstanding teaching during their first years on the faculty. In the 50 year history of the 1923 Award, David and Sarah are the first winners from our department!