Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Susan Lipschutz/Margaret Ayers Host/Anna Olcott Smith Awards

Students submit one application for this "combined competition." Three separate awards are given of at least $5,000 each in honor of Susan Lipschutz, Margaret Ayers Host, and Anna Olcott Smith.

The Susan Lipschutz Fund recognizes and supports promising women scholars and was established to honor the memory of Dr. Susan Lipschutz, former Senior Associate Dean of the Graduate School and Associate Provost for Academic Affairs. Dr. Lipschutz was a graduate of the Michigan Philosophy department in 1969 and wrote her dissertation on "Participatory Democracy.” Dean Earl Lewis, in the first year of the award (1998) stated that the fund is awarded to women who "are exceptional scholars and who exemplify Susan's sense of social responsibility and concern for the welfare of others." The $5,000 award is intended to support summer dissertation research and travel.

Margaret Ayers Host received a Rackham degree in 1942. She studied at Oxford, was President of the Alumni Association, Chair of the Alumnae Council, member of the Board in Control of Intercollegiate Athletics, and a member of the Rackham Board of Governors. The Margaret Ayers Host Award was established to honor her remarkable contributions as a woman scholar and to the University of Michigan community.

Ella Smith Avery made a gift in 1938 in order to honor the memory of her mother and to support women graduate students at the University of Michigan. According to the terms of the gift, the Anna Olcott Smith Fellowship Endowment is intended to aid women graduate students who show "promise of the development of useful original ideas."

Department of Philosophy Recipients

2017:      Cat Saint-Croix, Susan Lipschutz Award

2008:     Erica Lucast Stonestreet, Susan Lipschutz Award

2005:     Carole Lee, Anna Olcutt Smith Award

About Dr. Lipschutz

Susan Lipschutz passed away in April [1997]. Susan touched the lives of many Philosophy graduate students, faculty, and undergraduates. A magna cum laude graduate of Smith College, Susan earned her doctorate in Philosophy from Michigan in 1969. She taught political philosophy at the University of Denver and at Albion College, and returned to Michigan in 1981 as assistant to Harold Shapiro, president of the University at the time. She served as Associate Dean at the Rackham School of Graduate Studies from 1986 to 1989, and as Senior Associate Dean until 1993, when she left Rackham to become Associate Provost. She served in that role under two Provosts, Gilbert Whitaker and Bernard Machen. She initiated and implemented programs to support the careers of women graduate students and women faculty, as well as the University's Dual Career Program, among other projects. Susan pursued her responsibilities with humane purpose. She never called attention to herself, and was devoted and selfless in her University service.

Susan also served as Adjunct Associate Professor of Philosophy since 1984. She was a remarkably effective teacher in Honors Introduction to Philosophy. She cared deeply about the academic progress and personal welfare of her students. Her introductory courses accounted for a disproportionate number of our concentrators. In recent years, University administrative responsibilities kept her out of the classroom; this was a real loss for our students. Over the years, Susan was highly supportive of Department programs, faculty, and students. For those of us who had the privilege to work with her, she was a model of caring and effective service to the University community. Susan, who wrote her dissertation on "Participatory Democracy," promoted civility and mutual understanding in her professional life. Memorial contributions can be made to the Susan Lipschutz Memorial for Women Graduate Students, care of the Dean of the Rackham Graduate School.

-Louis Loeb, Michigan Philosophy News, 1997