Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}


The Department awards the John Dewey Prize, funded by the James B. and Grace J. Nelson Endowment for the Teaching of Philosophy, for excellence in teaching as a Graduate Student Instructor. Students must have achieved a record of excellence over more than one term of teaching to be eligible for consideration for this prize, awarded at the close of the Winter Term. The Department automatically considers all eligible students.

The prize carries an award of $900, Dewey's salary when he arrived at Michigan as an instructor in Philosophy in 1884. Dewey remained at Michigan until 1888. Dewey's interest in higher education, social science, and practical social reform were already emerging during this period. Dewey returned to Michigan in 1889 to head the Department. He remained for five years, moving the Department away from an ethics curriculum rooted in religion. Dewey's "pragmatism" was to develop much more fully during this period.

Please continue reading for more information about Dewey's time at Michigan, his interest in education, his interest in education, and his career is available. Also see Brian A. Williams' John Dewey at the University of Michigan.


Dewey Prize Recipients

"Rackham" indicates students who also received the Rackham Graduate School Outstanding GSI Award

2023-24   Gillian Gray

2022-23   Cameron McCulloch

2021-22   Rebecca Harrison

2020-21   Angela Sun

2019-20  Josh Hunt & Elise Woodard    

2018-19   Eli Lichtenstein

2017-18   Johann Hariman & Caroline Perry

2016-17   Mara Bollard

2015-16   Nina Windgätter

2014-15   Zoë Johnson King

2013-14   Nils-Hennes Stear

2012-13   Annette Bryson

2011-12   Chloe Armstrong (Rackham)

2010-11   Daniel Peterson

2009-10   Lina Jansson

2008-09   Ivan Mayerhofer

2007-08   Tim Sundell (Rackham)

2006-07   Soraya Gollop

2005-06   Alexa Forrester

2004-05   Mathew Silverstein  

2003-04   Steven Daskal (Rackham)

2002-03   Christie Hartley (Rackham)

2001-02   Katie McShane (Rackham)  

2000-01   Peter Vranas

1999-00   Karen Bennett  

1998-99   Suzanne Kovinsky (Rackham)  

1997-98   Samuel Ruhmkorff (Rackham)

1996-97   Jeffery Allen  

1996-97   Manyul Im (Rackham)  

1995-96   Nadeem Hussain (Rackham)  

1993-94   Jeffrey Kasser