Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}


The Wirt and Mary Cornwell Prize is awarded, typically on an annual basis, to a graduate student who shall have demonstrated outstanding "intellectual curiosity" and exceptional "promise of original study and creative work" in their field of study, according to the terms of the bequest from the Cornwells. The Prize is actually a fellowship, available to candidates and pre-candidates to cover tuition and stipend. Students living in the Ann Arbor area must be enrolled for as many credits as would be needed for GSIs to earn a tuition waiver. Students out of residence must be pursuing philosophy full-time as visitors at another university while enjoying this prize. The Department automatically considers all graduate students for the Cornwell Prize.

Cornwell Prize Recipients

2023-24: Ariana Peruzzi, Calum McNamara

2022-23: Laura Soter, Lianghua 'Glenn' Zhou

2021-22: Elise Woodard

2020-21: Guus Duindam

2018-19: Kevin Blackwell

2017-18: Caroline Perry

2016-17: Johann Hariman

2015-16: Umer Shaikh

2014-15: Jeremy Lent

2013-14: Paul Boswell, Adam Rigoni

2012-13: Annette Bryson, Dmitri Gallow, Dan Peterson

2011-12: Billy Dunaway, Catharine "Cat" Saint Croix, Dan Singer

2010-11: Nathaniel Adam Tobias Coleman

2008-09: Stephen Campbell

2007-08: Ian Flora

2006-07: Lina Jansson

2005-06: Alexa Forrester

2004-05: Tim Sundell

2003-04: Kevin Coffey

2002-03: Remy Debes

2001-02: Steven Daskal

1999-00: Bruce Lacey

1998-99: Evan Kirchoff 

1997-98: Peter Vranas