Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowship

Overview and Introduction

The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans supports thirty New Americans, immigrants or the children of immigrants, who are pursuing graduate school in the United States. 

Each Fellow receives up to $90,000 in financial support over two years, and they join a lifelong community of New American Fellows. 


  • Citizenship: New American Status. 
  • Degree-level: Must be entering graduate school or in the first two years of graduate school.
  • Other: Applicants should be 30 years old or younger.

Application Deadlines

  • Program Deadline: Late October
  • Endorsement: PD Soros does not require institutional endorsement; students may apply directly.
  • Selection Notification: mid-April

Prospective Applicants

Prospective applicants should refer to the PD Soros Fellowship website for an overview of the application, program requirements, additional advising information, and more. Please note, ONSF does not offer individual advising for PD Soros applicants at this time.

Application Summary

Candidates apply directly via the online PD Soros application. The online application includes the following: 

  • Confirmation of eligibility
  • Higher-education history
  • Intended or current graduate program[s] 
  • Recommendations (3 required, up to 5 accepted)
  • Application components: 
    • Resume
    • Two essays
    • Transcripts 
    • Scores of standardized tests 
  • Optional exhibits 

Additional Requirements for Applicants

The PD Soros Fellowship supports New Americans. To be eligible, the applicant's birth parents must have both been born outside of the US as non-US citizens, and both parents must not have been eligible for US citizenship at the time of their births. Interested applicants should refer to the PD Soros website for full eligibility details. 

The Fellowship is open to all fields of study and fully accredited full-time graduate and professional degree programs. Individuals who have a previous graduate degree are eligible.