Since 1991, U-M has had at least one Goldwater Scholar. This year, the record has been broken with the largest number of U-M awardees ever: five. Since its formation in 1986, the Goldwater Scholarship has been widely considered the most prestigious award for undergraduates preparing for research careers in a variety of STEM fields.

This year’s scholars are Nick Cemalovic (Pharmacy), Faye Jackson (Mathematics), Daniel Liu (Chemistry and Computer Science), Anna Simpson (Physics, Astronomy and Astrophysics), and Jonah Nan (Mathematics).

To learn more about the prestigious Goldwater Scholarship and this year’s students who won it, read this great article from the Michigan Daily.