The University of Michigan Matthaei Botanical Gardens and Nichols Arboretum
Few places on Earth are as beautiful as Michigan on a fine fall day. Stroll through the trails & gardens during the early morning or later afternoon at this special time of year.
Check out the bloom calendar.
study spots
Looking for a location to hold a group meeting? We have some of the University's best study spots.

student awards and prizes

Annual prizes and awards recognize creative work and scholarship related to the Matthaei-Nichols mission. The Nanette R. LaCross and William D. Drake prizes honor work by students in the School of Natural Resources & Environment (SNRE) or Program in the Environment (PitE) who link their studies with us. The Winifred B. Chase Fellowship helps students in systematic botany research, plant geography, and other phases of botany requiring field study.

2016 winners:

Last First Amount Prize
Baroli Madeline $1,000 Nanette LaCross Memorial Prize
Roos Claire $1,000 Nanette LaCross Memorial Prize
Wilson Angey $1,500 Nanette LaCross Memorial Prize
Taylor Alex $750 Winifred B. Chase Fellowship
Salvi Amanda $1,000 Winifred B. Chase Fellowship
Ng Molly $750 Winifred B. Chase Fellowship
Lee Benjamin $1,928 Student Research Award
Deruiter John $1,500 William D. Drake Prize
Sell Andy $1,500 William D. Drake Prize
Aslakson Jared $1,500 William D. Drake Prize
Machinski Nicholas $1,000 William D. Drake Prize
Kubota Yoshihiko $2,000 William D. Drake Prize
Grochowski Jacob $2,000 William D. Drake Prize

2015 winners:

Winifred B. Chase Fellowship

  1. Sara Colom - EEB: $1,473 towards Is ecological displacement a driving force in the evolution of root morphologies of invasive weed species?
  2. Karen Ickes-Lemasters: Biology @ UM-Flint - $1,000 towards Phenology of a Michigan lupine and the endangered Karner Blue butterfly
  3. Amanda Meier - EEB: $2,000 towards Investigating the influence of root-microbe symbioses on above ground multitrophic species interactions in milkweed (Asclepias) species

Student Research Funds, including specific donor-designated funds

  1. Daniel Buonaiuto - SNRE: $2,880 towards The influence of plant mating systems on seed germination in wind pollinated Carex species and implications for restoration
  2. A team led by Paul Glaum, EEB, and including Carolina Simao - SNRE, Chatura Vaidya - EEB, and Gordon Fitch - EEB: $3,538 towards Native pollinator decline in southeastern Michigan.

Nanette R. LaCross Prizes (restricted to SNRE/PITE students):

All $2,000 each
  Zachery Gizicki , Lello Guluma, Andrew Miller

William D. Drake Prizes:

All $2,000 each
Justin Bowers, Jacob Grochowski, Yoshi Kubota

Michigan Web Design by Boxcar Studio