Department of Mathematics has been selected as the recipient of the 2014 Departmental Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education by the College of LSA.  The award recognizes the educational excellence, spirit of innovation, and strong commitment to good advising in the Department, as well as the ability of the Department to create community among majors through sponsorship of clubs, the Math T-shirt, publication of a weekly “missive,” and other activities.  These are just a few of the many strides that Math has made toward better serving LSA undergraduates of all backgrounds.  In 1994, the Department also received the Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education, in part for its efforts to reform the Calculus program and how it is taught.  The phot shows Mathematics Undergraduate Program Director and Thurnau Professor Stephen DeBacker accepting the award from LSA Dean Andrew Martin.