Skip to Content

The Ralph Baldwin Prize in Astrophysics and Space Science


The Ralph B. Baldwin Prize in Astrophysics and Space Sciences is an award sponsored by a generous gift to the University by Dr. Ralph B. Baldwin. Applicants must show original and significant contributions to their field as measured in their scholarly publications. 


Student applications are selected from the fields of Astronomy, Climate and Space Sciences; Chemistry; Physics; Geology; and Mathematics as they pertain to space, its bodies, and relevant physical processes. The prize is awarded annually to a student who has received a University of Michigan Ph.D. during the previous year. A faculty committee comprised of representatives from the appropriate departments judges the packages submitted on the basis of the excellence of their research activities revealed in the student's thesis and publications during their career.


Each department nominates theses completed in the previous calendar year. Last year's runner up might be considered. Each department submits to the College up to two outstanding applications for final selection.

Applications should consist of 1 electronic copy of the following e-mailed to

  • Student's thesis
  • Candidate's curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of recommendation
  • Publication List 
  • Statement of research from candidate
  • Candidate's graduate transcripts

Deadlines and Timeline

The deadline for the applications to the College is April 17, 2017

Award Amount

This award acknowledges the contribution of outstanding students in their department with a grant of $3,500 and a $500 travel stipend. The award is presented to the students at a College ceremony.


Past Recipients

Year   Recipient Department
2012   Zhaohuan Zhu Astronomy
2011   Catherine Kublik Mathematics
2010   Sarah Ragan Astronomy
2009   Alex Glocer Space Science (AOSS)
2008   Matthew Walker Astronomy
2007   Yue Deng Space Science (AOSS)
2006   Jifeng Liu Astronomy
2005   Maritza Tavarez-Brown Astronomy
2004   no award  
2003   Alex Athey Astronomy
2002   Gerd Steinle-Neuman Geological Science
2002   Kenneth Calvin Hansen Space Science (AOSS)
2001   no award  
2000   Brian Charles Lee Physics
1999   Joel R. Parriott Astronomy
1998   no award  
1997   Christopher Metzler Physics
1996   Rachel A. Pildis Astronomy
1995   Stephen S. Lawrence
 (1st Recipient)