LSA faculty members Paul N. Courant, Judith T. Irvine, Earl Lewis, and Scott E. Page have been named Distinguished University Professors, a top honor at the University of Michigan.

They were appointed on July 18, 2019 during the Board of Regents meeting. In total, six faculty members from across U-M were selected. Distinguished University Professors are senior faculty who are recognized for their exceptional scholarly and creative work, their academic excellence, and their exemplary records for teaching, mentoring, and service. 

Paul N. Courant is the Edward M. Gramlich Distinguished University Professor of Economics and Public Policy, Arthur F. Thurnau Professor, Harold T. Shapiro Collegiate Professor of Public Policy, professor of economics, professor of information, and a faculty associate in the Institute for Social Research.

Judith T. Irvine is the Edward Sapir Distinguished University Professor of Linguistic Anthropology and the Edward Sapir Collegiate Professor of Linguistic Anthropology and a professor of anthropology.

Earl Lewis is the Thomas C. Holt Distinguished University Professor of History, Afroamerican and African Studies, and Public Policy and a professor of history, professor of Afroamerican and African studies, and director of the Center for Social Solutions.

Scott E. Page is the John Seely Brown Distinguished University Professor of Complexity, Social Science, and Management and professor of complex systems, political science, and economics. He also is the Williamson Family Professor of Business Administration, professor of management and organizations at the Stephen M. Ross School of Business.

Read the complete article in The University Record.