Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Engineering: Bachelor of Science in Cell and Molecular Biology and Master of Science in Biomedical Engineering

The Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology (MCDB) in the College of LSA and the Department of Biomedical Engineering in the College of Engineering administer a five-year program awarding a concurrent B.S. degree in Cell and Molecular Biology from the College of LSA and an M.S. in Biomedical Engineering from the Rackham Graduate School upon completion of all program requirements. A student will apply to both the Department of Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology and the Department of Biomedical Engineering for entrance. A student will be admitted into the program only after completing the first year of the concentration prerequisites (BIOL 162, CHEM 210/211, PHYSICS 135/136 or 140/141, MATH 115 and 116) with a GPA of 3.2 or higher.

Upon acceptance into the program, each student will be assigned two advisors, one in MCDB and one in biomedical engineering. Student course selections must be approved by both advisors each term. 

Student are typically admitted into the M.S. phase at the end of their third year when they achieve senior standing. Students must have completed all concentration prerequisites and be judged by both academic advisors as making adequate progress toward the B.S. At this time, students must formally apply to the Rackham Graduate School for the M.S. program in biomedical engineering. All students with a 3.2 GPA or higher in the B.S. concentration phase will automatically be admitted into the M.S. phase. Other students who have reached senior standing with a 3.2 GPA or higher and have fulfilled all concentration prerequisites, but did not previously apply or were not admitted in the B.S. phase, can also apply for admittance into the M.S. phase. Students with senior standing will have two years to mix undergraduate and graduate courses, simultaneously fulfilling the requirement for both the B.S. and M.S. degrees. Students will be charged graduate tuition for only one academic year.