The Linguistic Society of America (LSA) is pleased to announce the election of University of Michigan Professor Marlyse Baptista to a three-year term on its Executive Committee. Dr. Baptista is a Professor of Linguistics specializing in the study of the morphology-syntax interface in pidgin and creole languages. The Executive Committee serves as the governing board of the LSA, representing over 4000 linguists from around the world. The LSA was founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language, and is the largest scholarly society serving the linguistics community.

The University of Michigan Linguistics Department has a proud tradition of leadership and involvement in the LSA, including 1) the current Editor of its flagship journal, Language (Andries Coetzee); 2) a second member of its Executive Committee (Robin Queen), now in the 2nd year of her term; and 3) hosting the 2013 Linguistic Institute (and more than 20 previous such events dating back to 1936). The Society will also confer its most prestigious award, the Victoria A. Fromkin Award, to Sarah Thomason, Bernard Bloch Distinguished University Professor of Linguistics at Michigan, at its upcoming Annual Meeting (2018) in Salt Lake City, UT.