Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

U-M Linguistics Timeline

Start at the beginning and discover more about the history of the department.

Recent Years

2023: Professor Robin Queen became the Sarah G. Thomason Collegiate Professor of Linguistics

2022: Professor Barbra Meek became Associate Dean for Social Sciences, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.

2022: Andrew McInnerney (Ph.D. 2022, syntax) received a Horace H. Rackham Distinguished Dissertation Award for 2022 (one of only 10 awards, selected from around 800 dissertations submitted in 2022).

2022: Professor Barbra Meek was named University Diversity and Social Transformation Professor

2021 - Current: Professor Acrisio Pires became the chair of the Linguistics Department.

2021: Associate Professor Nicholas Henriksen received the Linguistic Society of America Early Career Award.

2019: Professor Anne Curzan became Dean of the College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.

2019: Professor Marlyse Baptista became the Uriel Weinreich Collegiate Professor of Linguistics.

2015-2019: Professor Anne Curzan was Associate Dean for Humanities, College of Literature, Science, and the Arts.

2015: Professor Sarah (Sally) Thomason became the Bernard Bloch University Distinguished Professor of Linguistics

2014-2021: Professor Robin Queen was chair of the Linguistics Department.

2014-2017: Professor Deborah Keller-Cohen was the Associate Dean for Humanities and the Arts in the Rackham Graduate School.