Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

The Academy of American Poets Prize

Two awards of $100 are offered by this national organization for poems submitted by University of Michigan students. One prize will go to a graduate student, the other to an undergraduate. No specific form is suggested for this contest, which was endowed by Mrs. Sharon A. Galley in memory of her late husband, David Galley, a 1966 graduate of the University of Michigan.

Rules of Eligibility

The award is open to all University of Michigan students with no particular course or hour requirements. Only one poem may be submitted in the contest. The following restrictions apply:

  • The same poem shall not be entered in any other contest with the exception of the Cowden Fellowship Contest.
  • No student who has won this award may compete again in the contest, nor may a winning poem be subsequently entered in any other Hopwood Program Contest, with the exception of fellowship/scholarship contests.
  • No poem that has been published in a medium other than a college or high school magazine or newspaper may be entered in the contest.
  • Winners of the Academy of American Poets Prizes at University of Michigan who are twenty-three years old or younger will be considered for the Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award. Established in 2013 and judged by an Academy Chancellor, the Most Promising Young Poet Award recognizes a student poet with an annual cash prize of $1,000.


Entries should be in 10-12 point font, with a left-hand margin of 1 inch, in PDF format.  A contestant must use a pen name - entirely different from their real name. This name should only appear on the title page, nowhere else in the manuscript. Please make sure the pen name in your profile matches the one in your manuscript.  The same pen name must be used for all fall term contests.

The PDF must have a title page on which shall appear: 

  • The title
  • The pen name
  • The contest (e.g., Academy of American Poets Prize--Graduate Division)