Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Graduates and Undergraduates

The Hopwood Program administers several contests available to both Undergraduate and Graduate students who have taken or are taking a qualifying writing course.  See contest pages for specific information on eligibility and to submit an entry.


Deadlines for the contests are as follows:

The Hopwood Award Theodore Roethke Prize, The Academy of American Poets Prize, The Bain-Swigget Poetry Prize, The Michael R. Gutterman Award in Poetry:  December 6, 2017, by 12 noon

Graduate and Undergraduate Hopwood Contest:

Special Deadline:  December 14, 2017 by 12 noon (only for contestants who will not be enrolled Winter Term, e.g. December Graduates).  Students studying abroad may use the February 7, 2018 deadline.

Regular Deadline: February 7, 2018 by 12 noon.  Please be advised that the
deadline is enforced to the minute.


For further information, inquire at the Hopwood Room, 1176 Angell Hall, or phone 734.764.6296, or email Hannah Ensor at