On Friday, May 3, eighteen graduating seniors presented their theses at the History Department Honors Symposium (four presented in absentia), which took place in the Michigan Union. Students each presented a brief overview of their original research, after which Professor Ian Moyer presented the following awards: 

  • Arthur Fondiler Award for Best Undergraduate Thesis: Russell Leivik Jacobs (first); Benjamin A. Leavitt (second)
  • John A. Williams History Award: Julia Reinach
  • Stephen J. Tonsor History of Ideas Undergraduate Honors Award: Madison Marie Cutler, Noah William Payne
  • Stephen J. Tonsor Best Oral Presentation of Thesis Award: Julia Reinach, Micah Joy Golan, Carlos Castillo (honorarable mention)
  • Elizabeth Sargent Lee Medical History Prize: Micah Joy Golan, Sydney Morgan Kaplan
  • James A. Knight Scholarships in History: Isabella Amelia Blanton, Micah Joy Golan, Connor James Zahler

View the 2024 Honors Symposium Program (PDF). Selected photos are available below.