The Eisenberg Institute for Historical Studies is pleased to announce that Howard Brick began serving as the Institute’s director on January 1, 2015.

“As the Institute nears its tenth anniversary, I look forward to collaborating with its staff, Steering Committee, and all the faculty and graduate students of the Department of History to sustain the keen intellectual level of our historical discussions, to draw distinguished guests here from around the world, and to give historical studies a paramount place in the broad campus life of U-M,” said Brick.

Brick, Louis Evans Professor of History, rejoined the university in 2009 after tenures at Washington University in St. Louis, University of Oregon, and University of Chicago. He earned his bachelor’s, master’s, and doctorate from U-M.

He succeeds Hitomi Tonomura, Professor of History and Women’s Studies, who held the Institute’s directorship from 2012 to 2014.

“A sincere thanks to everyone who supported the program during my directorship,” said Tonomura. “The experience was truly inspiring for me, and it is a pleasure to hand it over to Howard’s superb leadership. My special appreciation goes to the Institute’s staff, along with its graduate student liaisons, Joseph Ho, Joshua Hubbard and Adam Johnson.”

Brick is the fourth director of the Institute. “I'm honored to step into the post as director of the Eisenberg, following a string of pioneers—Kathleen Canning, Ron Suny, and Tomi Tonomura—who established and built such a strong organization,” he said. Directors serve a two- to three-year term.

The Eisenberg Institute for Historical Studies provides a world-class forum for historical research and teaching. The Institute hosts distinguished guests from the university and around the world for an annual series of lectures, workshops, and colloquia. Its intellectual community consists of nearly twenty fellows and affiliates, along with the faculty and students of history and other related departments. The Institute was founded in 2007 by a generous gift by Kenneth and Frances Aftel Eisenberg.