James Boyko

The fellows were chosen from more than 560 applicants for the importance and quality of their scholarship and their interest in interdisciplinary work. During their time at the University of Michigan, they will teach selected courses in their affiliated departments and continue their scholarly research.

The new fellows, with their affiliated department at U-M, their degree-granting institution and their research project are:


James Boyko, Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology in LSA; University of Arkansas; “Deep-neural Networks as a Tool for Advancing Evolutionary Analysis.”


Fellows appointed in previous years who will continue as members of the Michigan Society of Fellows are: Ismael Biyashev, history; Ifeolu David, epidemiology; Elizabeth Durham, anthropology; Natalie Hofmeister, ecology and evolutionary biology; Anne Kort, earth and environmental sciences; Paul Kurek, Germanic languages and literatures; Sungwon Park, nursing; Meghna Sapui, English language and literature; Henry Stoll, musicology; and Mo Torres, public policy and sociology.

The Michigan Society of Fellows was founded in 1970 with grants from the Ford Foundation and Horace H. and Mary Rackham Funds. It provides financial and intellectual support to individuals selected for professional promise and interdisciplinary interests.

Competition for the fellowships is open to eligible candidates in the physical and life sciences, engineering, social sciences, education, humanities and the arts.