Each year, we like to give a special thank you to the dedicated graduate students who volunteer with the Graduate Researchers in Ecology and Evolutionary Biology (GREEBs). These students help make the department run more smoothly in numerous ways. GREEBs is the student organization in the Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology that supports students, communicates about issues, and organizes and plans activities.

"In this unusual year, no one’s GREEBs position is exactly like it would have been in normal times, but that doesn’t change our level of engagement with the department,” said Teresa Pegan, GREEBs president. “GREEBs contribute to the department in many ways, from assisting with normal departmental operations to pushing for initiatives to improve departmental climate and grad student wellbeing.”

Newly elected members

Admissions committee: Nikesh Dahal and Meagan Simons

Big sib/little sib: Chau Ho

Community organizer: Katie McLean

Diversity committee: Nia Johnson

Executive committee: Kristel Sánchez

Graduate-affairs committee: Zachary Hajian-Forooshani

President: Teresa Pegan

Retreat committee: Bridget Shayka

Thursday Seminar:* Eric Gulson

Social committee: Will Weaver

Space and facilities committee: Rachel Cable

Tuesday Lunch Seminar:* Katrina Munsterman and Siliang Song

Undergrad affairs: Rachel Wadleigh

Existing members

The following people will be serving the second and final year of their term.

Community organizer: Tamara Milton

Diversity committee: Chatura Vaidya

Retreat committee: Tom Morgan

Thursday Seminar:* John David Curlis

“I’ve often heard other students describe the grad student community in EEB as one of their favorite aspects of the program, and I think the hard work of the GREEBs is a reflection of how much we value that community,” said Pegan.

There is a Slack channel for EEB grad students and postdocs to have both academic and informal discussions. If you would like to join the Slack channel, email GREEBs president Teresa Pegan at tmpegan@umich.edu. If you’d like to get involved next year, the call for nominations for GREEBs volunteers goes out in the spring. Go GREEBs! We appreciate you.

Compiled by Gail Kuhnlein

Zoom screenshot from the November GREEBs meeting featuring from top left to right: Tom Morgan, Teresa Pegan, Tamara Milton, Bridget Shayka, Chau Ho, Katrina Munsterman, Will Weaver, Kristel Sanchez, Nikesh Dahal, Rachel Wadleigh, Katherine McLean, Rachel Cable, Zach Hajian-Forooshani, Nia Johnson.