The Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology is delighted to present the EEB First Paper Award to recognize the following graduate students for their first lead-authored publications: Drew Larson, Jacqueline Popma and Kayla Sale-Hale.

Larson, D. A., J. F. Walker, O. M. Vargas, and S. A. Smith. 2020. A consensus phylogenomic approach highlights paleopolyploid and rapid radiation in the history of EricalesAmerican Journal of Botany 107(5): 1–17. doi:10.1002/ajb2.1469

Popma, J.M.A., Nadelhoffer, K. Deer browsing effects on temperate forest soil nitrogen cycling shift from positive to negative across fertility gradients. Canadian Journal of Forest Research, in press.

Hale, K.R.S., Valdovinos, F.S. & Martinez, N.D. Mutualism increases diversity, stability, and function of multiplex networks that integrate pollinators into food webs. Nat Commun 11, 2182 (2020).

Larson’s advisors are Professors Christopher Dick and Stephen Smith, Popma is advised by Professor Knute Nadelhoffer and Sale-Hale’s advisor is Professor George Kling. They will receive certificates signed by Professor Jianzhi Zhang, associate chair for graduate studies, and Professor Patricia Wittkopp, EEB chair. They will each receive a $30 book store gift card. Congratulations!