Professors of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Meghan Duffy and Knute Nadelhoffer have risen to the distinctive status as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. As the U-M Biological Station pointed out, for scientists, this honor is akin to being elected to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. Nadelhoffer is the Director of the UMBS.

They are two of the 22 University of Michigan faculty elected in 2019. An AAAS Fellow is defined as "a Member whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished."

Duffy was chosen for outstanding research into the ecology and evolution of infectious diseases in natural populations of Daphnia, and for contributions to the mental health of graduate students.

Nadelhoffer was honored for outstanding contributions to our understanding of plant-soil interactions in the arctic tundra and temperate forests, including predictions of ecosystem responses to human-induced change.

“Meghan and Knute richly deserve this individual recognition – please join me in congratulating them!” said EEB Professor and Chair Diarmaid ÓFoighil.

University Record: 22 U-M scientists, engineers named 2019 AAAS Fellows