The Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology proudly presents the EEB First Paper Award to recognize the following graduate students for their first lead-authored publication:

Zachary Hajian-Forooshani: Hajian-Forooshani Z, Gonthier DJ, Marín L, Iverson AL, Perfecto I. (2014) Changes in species diversity of arboreal spiders in Mexican coffee agroecosystems: untangling the web of local and landscape influences driving diversityPeerJ 2:e623 

Rob Massatti: Massatti, Rob, Knowles, L. Lacey. (2014) Microhabitat differences impact phylogeographic concordance of codistributed species: genomic evidence in montane sedges (Carex L.) from the Rocky Mountains. Evolution 68-10: 2833-2846.

Jeff Shi: Shi, Jeff J., Chan, Lauren M., Rakotomalala, Zafimahery, Heilman, Amy M., Goodman, Steven M., Yoder, Anne D. Latitude drives diversification in Madagascar's endemic dry forest rodent Eliurus myoxinus (subfamily Nesomyinae)Biol J Linn Soc Lond 110-3: 1095-8312 (2013). 

Students were presented with a certificate signed by Professor Patricia Wittkopp, associate chair for graduate studies, and Professor Diarmaid Ó Foighil, EEB chair. They also receive a $30 gift card to Barnes & Noble.