Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Lawrence Klein Fellowship in Econometrics

The Klein prize provides one year of (candidate) tuition plus stipend for the best (proposed) dissertation research in econometric theory and/or research that utilizes advanced, innovative econometric techniques. The level of the stipend is set to match the Rackham pre-doctoral award. The recipient of the Klein award will be selected by the Fellowships committee (following the process for the Roosa and Taylor awards), in consultation with the econometrics faculty and will initially be awarded annually.

Winter 2021 Recepient

Bernardo Modenesi

Bernardo Modenesi is a Ph.D. candidate in Economics, also pursuing a masters degree in Statistics, at the University of Michigan. Bernardo's interests lie in interdisciplinary statistical methods, such as network theory and machine learning, for the improvement of causal inference exercises and economic modelling. Recently, he is working on using network theory and discrete choice models to leverage information contained in linked employee-employer data for labor market modeling and also for enhancing counterfactual analysis. His past research topics include the partial identification of marginal treatment effects under the monotonicity assumption, using polynomial extrapolations. Prior to starting his Ph.D., Bernardo earned a masters degree in Economics from the Sao Paulo School of Economics (FGV-SP), where he also worked as a research assistant in econometric theory papers published in top journals. He also had previous experience working with applied econometrics in the think tank Centers for Learning on Evaluation and Results (CLEAR-FGV).