Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Fred M. Taylor Award in Economic Theory

In 1892, the regents appointed Fred M. Taylor assistant professor of political economy, making him the second professor in the department (Henry Carter Adams being the first). In 1921, Taylor was appointment as successor to Adams (who had retired) as department chair. Taylor served as chair from 1921-1924. Taylor’s textbook Principles of Economics would have nine editions between 1911 and 1925. He retired in 1929.The Fred M. Taylor Fellowship in Economic Theory is a highly competitive award program that covers tuition for three terms, GradCare health insurance, and a stipend.  For the purpose of this award, "Economic Theory" is to be interpreted broadly. There is one recipient of this departmental award every other year.


Iris Vrioni

Iris is a fifth-year candidate in the department of economics. Her research interests are in industrial organization and applied microeconomis, with a focus on education markets and market design. She is especially interested in all apsects of choice in designed markets and markets with information frictions. Her receint projects focus on college and career choice, and choices related to fertilityand contraception. Before coming to Michigan, she wokred in economic consulting on antitrust cases. She graduated from Macalester College in 2015 with a Bachelor of Arts in Mathematics and Economics.