Yale University today announced the 2018 recipients of the Windham-Campbell Prizes. The eight recipients, honored for their literary achievement or promise, will receive a $165,000 individual prize to support their writing.

The 2018 recipients of the Windham-Campbell Prizes are: in drama, Lucas Hnath (United States) and Suzan-Lori Parks (United States); in nonfiction, Sarah Bakewell (United Kingdom) and Olivia Laing (United Kingdom); in fiction, John Keene (United States) and Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda/United Kingdom); and in poetry, Lorna Goodison (Jamaica) and Cathy Park Hong (United States).

“This wonderful award will allow me precious time and space to continue my writing,” said Goodison, the current poet laureate of Jamaica. “I am honored; and I turn thanks on behalf of me and my people.”

The awards, among the world’s most generous literary prizes, will be conferred Sept. 12-14 during an international literary festival at Yale celebrating the honored writers and introducing them to new audiences.

“Over the past several years the Windham-Campbell Prize committee has recognized some of my favorite voices in literature,” said Hnath, who has received the Steinberg Playwright Award, an Obie Award for playwriting, and a Guggenheim Fellowship. “I’m simply honored and humbled to be included in their company.”

The Windham-Campbell Prizes were established in 2013 by novelist and memoirist Donald Windham in memory of his partner of 40 years, Sandy M. Campbell, to call attention to literary achievement and provide writers working in English with the opportunity to focus on their work independent of financial concerns. 


Read the full article here.