Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Complex Systems Presents the Annual Nobel Symposium

University of Michigan faculty will discuss the work, impact, and personalities of the 2021 Nobel Laureates
Friday, December 10, 2021
10:00 AM-3:00 PM

Registration not required. Free and open to the public. This will be a virtual symposium. This popular annual event features UM faculty experts in each of the six prize fields. Each will present for approximately 25 minutes and then will take some questions. There is a scheduled lunch break. Come to one talk, come to them all.

10:00 AM Opening remarks, Marisa Eisenberg, Interim Director of Complex Systems
10:05 AM Physics, Mark Newman, LSA Complex Systems & Physics AND Richard Rood, Engineering & SEAS
10:55 AM Chemistry, Corey Stephenson, LSA Chemistry
11:30 AM Physiology or Medicine, Shawn Xu, Michigan Medicine Molecular and Integrative Physiology & Life Sciences Institute AND Rui Xiao, University of Florida, Center for Smell and Taste (special guest and Michigan Alumni)

12:05 PM Lunch break

1:00 PM Economics: Tanya Rosenblat, School of Information and LSA Economics
1:35 PM Literature: Gaurav Desai, LSA English Language and Literature
This talk is co-sponsored by the African Studies Center (
2:10 PM Peace: Lynette Clemetson, Wallace House (Knight-Wallace Fellowships) AND Ron Suny, LSA History & Political Science
3:00 PM Closing remarks

For information on prize winners, please click the Nobel Prize winners link below. Other information on the Nobel Prizes can be found on the website
Building: Off Campus Location
Location: Virtual
Event Link:
Event Password: cscs (all lowercase)
Event Type: Conference / Symposium
Tags: Biosciences, Chemistry, climate, Complex Systems Modelling, Computational Modeling, Economics, English Language & Literataure, Literature, Medicine, Natural Sciences, Nobel Prize, Physics, Research
Source: Happening @ Michigan from The Center for the Study of Complex Systems, The College of Literature, Science, and the Arts, Department of Physics, African Studies Center, Department of Economics, Department of History, Department of English Language and Literature, Department of Chemistry, Wallace House Center for Journalists