2015 Undergraduate McGuigan Prize winner, Women's Studies major Laura Brillman.


Each year the Women’s Studies Department awards prizes for the best undergraduate and graduate essays on women written at the University of Michigan. The prizes honor the memory of Dorothy Gies McGuigan, a distinguished alumna of the University of Michigan who taught in the School of Business Administration and the Residential College.  Dorothy McGuigan was an early supporter of the Women's Studies Program and a founder and member of the editorial board of the University of Michigan Press series on Women and Culture.


Essays or papers written during the calendar year 2015 are eligible for the 2016 competition.  Students must have been enrolled at the Ann Arbor, Dearborn, or Flint campuses of the University of Michigan during the term in which they wrote the essay, but the essay does not have to have been written for a class.  The contest is open to all fields and collaboratively-written papers by graduate students are eligible.  Personal stories, fiction and poetry are not eligible.There is a 40-page limit for graduate student submissions, including notes.  Each author may submit only one entry and the essay must be written in English. Previous McGuigan Prize winners may not apply.


Essays are evaluated by an interdisciplinary committee for their contribution to our understanding of some aspect of women's lives or roles, as well as for their originality and clarity of presentation.


The paper or essay should be typed and double-spaced, including notes and/or bibliography.  Please submit with two title pages. Include the following on the first title page: essay title, author's name, address, e-mail address, and present U of M status (undergraduate or graduate).   On the second title page please include only the title of the essay.  Graduate submissions should include an abstract.  To submit, please e-mail the essay with the two title pages as a single PDF document to McGuiganSubmissions@umich.edu.


Essays are due by Wednesday, January 20, 2016.  Decisions will be announced in late March.


An award of $750 will be presented to each winner.


Dorothy McGuigan’s many works include:  The Dangerous Experiment: 100 Years of Women at the University of Michigan (University of Michigan, 1970); The Hapsburgs (Doubleday, 1966) and Metternich and the Duchess (Doubleday, 1975).  In a citation for Distinguished Service to the University presented in 1975, the U of M Board of Regents noted that Dorothy McGuigan "is held in widespread esteem as a research historian and author and is widely acclaimed on campus as a true leader of women."