The biennial European Physical Society (EPS) conference on High Energy Physics is happening at Stockholm, Sweden this week. The EPS HEP Division will present the 2013 High Energy Particle Physics Prize to the ATLAS and CMS collaborations for the discovery of a Higgs boson, as predicted by the Brout-Englert-Higgs mechanism," and to Micahel Della Negra, Peter Jenni and Tejinder Virdee, "for their pioneering and outstanding leadership roles in the making of the ATLAS and CMS experiments." The prize is being presented at the conference.

The Michigan ATLAS team, including Professors Amidei, Chapman, Neal, Thun, Qian, Zhou and Zhu, research staff members Ball, Dai, Diehl, Dubbert, Levin, McKee and Weaverdyck, and many postdocs and students, has played a strong role in the ATLAS collaboration. They have made substantial contributions to nearly every aspect of ATLAS from the design, construction, commissioning and operation of the detector to physics analysis.