The Department of Physics has been selected as the recipient of the 2006 Departmental Award for Contributions to the Undergraduate Initiative from the College of LSA. Dean Terrence McDonald lauds the Department of Physics for demonstrating its strong commitment to undergraduate education in recent years through implementation of new active learning methods as part of introductory lecture courses, major revitalization of introductory laboratory courses, and a renewed engagement with more advanced undergraduate concentrators. The $25,000 award is given to one Department among the 26 in LSA that "demonstrates special commitment to undergraduate education."