Skip to Content

Faculty Taking Rotation Students :: Fall 2018

These groups have indicated they will accept rotation students for Fall 2018 (Kwon--winter only) 

Synaptic development and maintenance; effect of high fat diet on the stability of neuromuscular synapses neuromuscular diseases
Mohammed Akaaboune, Professor; makaabou@umich.edu

Role of molecular chaperones and disulfide catalysts in protein folding; Experimental evolution of protein folding
James Bardwell, Professor; jbardwel@umich.edu

Understanding the barriers to proliferation in quiescent cells and how they are bypassed in diseases such as cancer
Laura Buttitta, Assistant Professor; buttitta@umich.edu

Protein sorting and quality control in the yeast secretory pathway
Amy Chang
, Associate Professor; amychang@umich.edu

Developmental and regulatory mechanisms that generate neural circuits and govern their function, using the olfactory system of Drosophila as a model system
 E. Josie Clowney, Assistant Professor; jclowney@umich.edu

Gene regulation and chromosome segregation mediated by condensin complexes in C. elegans
Gyorgyi Csankovszki, Associate Professor; gyorgyi@umich.edu

Development, organization, and function of neural circuits that underlie a variety of somatosensory modalities
Bo Duan, Assistant Professor; bduan@umich.edu

Understanding how peptide growth factors act to control growth, development, and aging
Cunming Duan,
Professor; cduan@umich.edu

How nutrient regulation of transcription leads to increased eating and obesity in Drosophila
Monica Dus, Assistant Professor; mdus@umich.edu

Role of oxidative stress in host defense and aging
Ursula Jakob, Professor; ujakob@umich.edu

Fundamental cellular physiology including protein targeting, organelle biogenesis and autophagy
Daniel Klionsky, Professor; klinosky@umich.edu

Accepting for Winter only
Cellular, molecular and circuit mechanisms underlying the plasticity in mammalian brain using in vivo imaging, electrophysiology, opto/pharmacogenetics, and behavior
Samuel Kwon, Assistant Professor; samkwon@umich.edu

Molecular mechanisms that regulate cytokinesis in epithelial cells and how this process may become mis-regulated in cancer
Ann Miller, Associate Professor; annlm@umich.edu

Cellular machinery involved in proper deposition of plant cell wall components
Erik Nielsen,
Associate Professor; nielsene@umich.edu

How DNA repair proteins identify sites of damage in living cells and how DNA repair pathways are coordinated with the the cell cycle
Lyle Simmons, Associate Professor; lasimm@umich.edu

Interdisciplinary approaches to understand subcellular organization, with an emphasis on cell-free reconstitution and imaging
Anthony Vecchiarelli
, Assistant Professor; ave@umich.edu

Protein trafficking, organelle biogenesis and Golgi defects in diseases
Yanzhuang Wang,
Professor; yzwang@umich.edu

Mechanisms of long non-coding RNA functions in regulation of genome activity
Andrzej Wierzbicki, Associate Professor; wierzbic@umich.edu

Physiological and pathological functions of Transient Receptor Potential (TRP) ion channels and Ca2+ signaling
Haoxing Xu,
Professor; haoxingx@umich.edu