Skip to Content

Faculty Advisory Committee

  1. Governance
    1. Faculty Advisory Committee
    2. IT Council
  2. Vision

The LSA IT Faculty Advisory Committee is designed to provide the mechanism and opportunity for faculty to provide direct input and guidance into shaping college-wide and university-wide IT direction. While there are many benefits in a more centralized approach to IT delivery — such as greater depth of expertise, continuity of coverage, economies of scale, and more ready career path possibilities for IT professionals — a significant concern relates to maintaining of ability for the local departmental faculty and staff to influence and govern a more centralized support structure. This committee, in conjunction with the IT Council (a representative group of departmental Chief Administrators), is intended to mitigate this concern.


The scope of the LSA IT Faculty Advisory Committee includes input and guidance on all information-related services provided by the college. This includes desktop, research, instructional, web, administrative data, and infrastructure support. Further, through partnership with ITS (the university central provider of IT solutions), this committee will have the opportunity to provide input and guidance to university-wide IT concerns as they relate to LSA.

Committee Membership

The committee for the 2017–2018 school year is:

Name Affiliation(s)
Barbara Anderson Sociology; Population Studies Center, ISR
Hoyt Bleakley Economics
Victoria Booth Mathematics
Jowei Chen Political Science and ISR
Lee Hartmann Astronomy
Ben Hansen Statistics
Eric Hetland Earth and Environmental Science
Gavin Larose Mathematics
Shawn McKee Physics
Simone Sessolo Sweetland Writing Center
Stephen Smith Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
Eric Swanson Philosophy and Linguistics
Nicola Terrenato Classical Studies
Keila Walton (ex officio) ITS

Meeting Structure

Meetings are generally for one hour each month. The agenda will be structured to include both updates on IT initiatives as well as a forum for input on future IT directions.

Faculty Member Commitment

Members serve for two years with the opportunity at the end of that term to apply for additional two-year terms. Each year will include three or four committee meetings, at two hours each.