Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Awards & Prizes

Michael Bernstein Dissertation Prize in Judaic Studies

The Michael Bernstein Dissertation Prize in Judaic Studies is awarded annually in March to a recent graduate of the University of Michigan. Recipients must have received a Graduate Certificate in Judaic Studies, have completed completed their dissertation and have been awarded their doctoral degree in May, August, or December of the two years prior to the award being given.

The recipient of the $4,000 Award is notified in March.  Nominations from Judaic Studies faculty are solicited each winter and focus on the student's excellence of scholarship, originality of research, quality of writing, and significance of contribution to Jewish Studies.

  • Nomination Deadline - March 1

Marshall Weinberg Prize

The Frankel Center for Judaic Studies awards, annually, the Marshall Weinberg Prize to an outstanding graduate student in Judaic Studies. To be eligible for the prize, the student must have passed his or her prelims and be engaged in writing his or her dissertation.

The recipient of the $7500 award is invited to speak at the annual Judaic Studies Book Party.  Nominations are solicited from University of Michigan faculty detailing the student's merits and including a copy of the student's dissertation prospectus, curriculum vitae, and any articles published by the student.

  • Nomination Deadline -  March 1

Outstanding Yiddish Student Award

Each year the Frankel Center for Judaic Studies presents the Outsanding Yiddish Student Award to a student enrolled in first or second year Yiddish whose classwork and commitment to Yiddish stands out.  Eligible students must be enrolled in Yiddish in both the fall and winter terms.

This $500 award is presented at the Judaic Studies spring graduation reception. Nominations are solicited from the Yiddish instructor and other relevant Judaic Studies faculty.

  • Nomination Deadline - March