Skip to Content

Excellence in Departmental Advising Award

Nominations for two advising candidates are solicited from the Assistant Dean for Student Academic Affairs, the Office of Academic Services, and the Counseling Office. Solicitation begins in January. Nominations are due before February 15. Winners are selected by a committee appointed by the Assistant Dean for Student Academic Affairs, with final approval given by the Executive Committee at its first meeting in April.

Each recipient is presented with a $500 check and an award certificate, which are presented by the Dean at the first faculty meeting of the fall term.

Criteria – Persons nominated for this award ought to have been respectful and wise in dealing with students and to have shown unfailing dedication to the values of a liberal arts education. They should also have demonstrated leadership in concentration advising by serving as a resource person to other concentration advisors. Special consideration will be given to nominees who have displayed great sensitivity to the needs and special problems of non-traditional students.

Nomination site

Advising Award - Recipients

2018 Olga Mustata Economics
  Melinda Nelson Anthropology
2017 Laura Olsen Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
  Kyger Lohmann Earth and Environmental Sciences
2016 Anne Berg History
  Angela Cox Chemistry
2015 Amy Gottfried Chemistry
  Ashlee Wolfe Asian Languages and Cultures/NES
2014 Thomas Chivens Anthropology
  Susan Rinaldi Science Learning Center
2013 Netta Berlin Classical Studies
  Andrew Mills Germanic Languages and Literatures
2012 Kathleen Nolta Chemistry
  Janet Wolfe Economics
2007 Brian Wallace Psychology
  Donna Ainsworth Women’s Studies
2006 Barry O'Connor Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  Catherine Philbin Organizational Studies
2005 Brenda Gunderson Statistics
  Richard Meisler American Culture
2004 Keith Riles Physics
  Laura Olsen Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
2003 Theresa Lee Psychology
  Terri Sarris Program in Film and Video
2002 Michael Wynne Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  Jackie Livesay English Language and Literature
2001 Karl-Georg Federhofer Germanic Languages and Literatures
  Eugene Krause Mathematics
2000 Merla Wolk English Language and Literature
  Antoinette J. Morales Independent Concentration Program
1999 Juli A. Highfill Romance Languages and Literatures
  Thomas W. Collier LSA Student Academic Affairs
1998 Curtis Huntington Mathematics
  Robert Kyes Germanic Languages and Literature
1997 Frederick Peters Residential College
  L. Ariella Zeller  
1996 Frank Livingston Anthropology
  Robert Cain Psychology
1995 Meigan Aronson Physics
  Max Heirich Sociology
1994 Chalmers Knight Academic Advising Office
  Guy Mermier Medieval and Renaissance Collegium
1993 Bernard A. Galler Computer Science Program
  Brian A. Hazlett Biology
1992 Jean P. Krisch Physics
  Astrid Beck Studies in Religion
1991 Arthur G. Wasserman Mathematics
  Janet Gerson, Lecturer Economics
1990 Gerald Livderman  
  Luis Steir-Younis  
1989 Ken K. Ito Asian Languages and Cultures
  Alan B. Howes English Language and Literature
1988 Helen Crafton, Director Academic Actions and Faculty Counselor
  Alan B. Howes English Language and Literature