The Eisenberg Institute for Historical Studies will feature eight external and five internal guests for its 2014-15 speaker series. All were nominated by faculty and graduate students from the Department of History and selected by the Institute's Steering Committee based on their ability to address the 2013-15 theme, "Materials of History." Lecture titles and abstracts are forthcoming. The Institute will announce its workshop series later this summer. Speakers include:

September 11, 2014: Douglas Northrop, Associate Professor, History and Near Eastern Studies, University of Michigan

October 2, 2014: Don Mitchell, Distinguished Professor, Geography, Maxwell School of Syracuse University (part of the Kemp Symposium on Geography and History)

October 3, 2014: Sallie A. Marston, Professor, School of Geography and Development, University of Arizona (part of the Kemp Symposium on Geography and History)

October 16-17, 2014: Derek Peterson, Professor, History and Afro-American and African Studies, University of Michigan

October 30, 2014: Mary C. Kelley; Ruth Bordin Collegiate Professor; History, Women's Studies, American Culture; University of Michigan

November 13-14, 2014: Marla R. Miller; Professor, History; Director, Public History Program; University of Massachusetts Amherst

December 4-5, 2014: Thomas S. Mullaney, Associate Professor, History, Stanford University

January 8, 2015: Sueann Caulfield; Associate Professor; History, Residential College; University of Michigan 

January 29-30, 2015: Ra'anan Boustan, Associate Professor, History, University of California Los Angeles

February 5-6, 2015: Jennifer L. Morgan; Professor; Social and Cultural Analysis, History; New York University

February 19, 2015: Joshua H. Cole; Associate Professor, History; Director, Center for European Studies; University of Michigan

March 26, 2015: Brigitte Miriam Bedos-Rezak, Professor, History, New York University

April 16-17, 2015: Ishita Pande, Associate Professor, History, Queen's University

These events have been made possible by a generous contribution from Kenneth and Frances Aftel Eisenberg.

Photos, left to right, top row: Douglas Northrop, Don Mitchell, Sallie Marston, Achille Mbembe, Mary C. Kelley; middle row: Marla R. Miller, Thomas S. Mullaney, Sueann Caulfield, Ra'anan Boustan, Jennifer L. Morgan; bottom row: Joshua H. Cole, Brigitte Mirian Bedos-Rezak, Ishita Pande.