The Eisenberg Institute for Historical Studies will feature eight external visitors for its 2013-14 speaker and workshop programs. Visitors were nominated by faculty and graduate students from the Department of History and selected by the Institute's Steering Committee based on their ability to address the 2013-15 theme, "Materials of History."

External guests include:

September 26-27, 2013: Adeline Masquelier, Professor and Chair, Department of Anthropology, Tulane University

October 10-11, 2013: Walter Johnson, Winthrop Professor of History and Professor of African American Studies, Harvard University

October 24-25, 2013: Valerie L. Garver, Associate Professor, Department of History, Northern Illinois University

November 21-22, 2013: Karen R. Merrill, Frederick Rudolph '42 - Class of 1965 Professor of American Culture, Department of History, Williams College

January 16-17, 2014: Thomas LaMarre, Professor, Department of East Asian Studies, McGill University 

February 13-14, 2014: Juliana Barr, Associate Professor, Department of History, University of Florida

March 13-14, 2014: Roger Bagnall, Professor of Ancient History and Leon Levy Director of the Institute for the Study of the Ancient World, New York University

March 27-28, 2014: Elizabeth Edwards, Research Professor in Photographic History and Director of the Photographic History Research Centre, De Montfort University

Walter Johnson (Oct. 10-11) and Thomas LaMarre (Jan. 16-17) will participate in seminar-style discussions of their selected, pre-circulated works. The remaining guests will present a Thursday lecture and participate in a graduate student-focused Friday Workshop. Lecture titles, abstracts, and readings are forthcoming.

The external visitors represent a broad variety of chronological, geographic, and disciplinary interests. They will join four internal speakers from the University of Michigan Department of History -- Paolo Squatriti (Sept. 12), Deirdre de la Cruz (Nov. 7), Nancy Hunt (Jan. 30), and Kathryn Babayan (Apr. 10) -- to round out the Institute's 2013-14 speakers.

Photos, left to right: Edwards, Merrill, Barr, Johnson, Masquelier, Bagnall, Garver, LaMarre.