Skip to Content

COLLABORATION OPPORTUNITY: Launch and Inaugural Symposium for the UM Sensory Science Initiative (October 30)


We are glad to announce the launching of the UM Sensory Science Initiative. This initiative aims at bringing together faculty, students, fellows and staff interested in all aspects of sensory science in all UM schools.


The Michigan Sensory Sciences Initiative aims to:

  • Identify and Promote points of Research Excellence in the Sensory Sciences
  • Synergize Collaborations and New Projects across Sensory Systems and Disciplines
  • Catalyze Public Knowledge of the Sensory Sciences through Interdisciplinary Events and Performances


We also invite you to participate in the inaugural Symposium for the UM Sensory Science Initiative, to be held at the A. Alfred Taubman Biomedical Science Research Building (BSRB) on Tuesday, October 30th, 8AM-5:30PM.


The symposium will feature 3 keynote speakers (see attached flyer) and have two poster sessions. We encourage you to submit a poster abstract using the link below (this will also serve as your registration). If you wish to attend, but do not plan to present a poster, please use the registration link.

Please, forward this email to anybody you believe might be interested.


Abstracts are due Oct 7.


Abstract and Registration


Registration Only


Thanks on behalf of UMSSI Executive committee



Gabriel Corfas, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery; Director, Kresge Hearing Research Institute

Monica Dus, LSA Department of Molecular, Cellular and Developmental Biology



Sean Ahlquist, Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning

Omar Ahmed, LSA Department  of Biopsychology

Thomas Gardner, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Karl Grosh, Department of Biomedical Engineering

Steven Harte, Department of Anesthesiology and Internal Medicine

Bret Hughes, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences

Aradhna Krishna, Ross School of Business

Charlotte Mistretta, School of Dentistry, Biologic and Material Science

Somangshu Mukherji, School of Music, Theater and Dance

Brian Pierchala,  School of Dentistry, Biologic and Material Science

Michael Roberts, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery

Carlos Xavier Rodriguez, School of Music, Theater and Dance

Gideon Rothschild, LSA Department of Biopsychology, Kresge Hearing Research Institute

Susan Shore, Department of Otolaryngology-Head and Neck Surgery; Department of Molecular and Integrative Physiology, Department of Biomedical Engineering

James Weiland, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Scien