## Neuroscience Independent Study & Research Sponsor List



Undergraduate Program in Neuroscience

L: 1140 Undergrad. Science Bldg. (USB)
 L: http://www.lsa.
 M: lsa-biology-advising@umich.edu
 T34-763-7984

 ➡: http://www.lsa.umich.edu/neurosci

 Image: 734-763-7984

We encourage neuroscience students to include independent research as part of the major.

- The person whose lab you work in is your sponsor. If you work with a faculty member in any Department other than MCDB or Psychology, you need a co-sponsor from the Neuroscience Sponsors list below to be able to enroll in a course that will let you count your research as part of your major.
- You may register for research for multiple semesters, but only the first semester meets a requirement of the major. In subsequent semesters, consult with your sponsor or co-sponsor to decide on the appropriate course number.
- In the term you complete a senior thesis (honors or non-honors) you must register for MCDB 461, PSYCH 426, or PSYCH 428.

Research Area	Eligible Sponsors	Eligible Co-Sponsors	Course Number to register for in your first term of research	Continuing Research
Behavioral or cognitive neuroscience	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	Psychology faculty members on the Neuroscience sponsors list	PSYCH 326 (or PSYCH 331)	PSYCH 422, 424, or 426
Cellular, Molecular or Sensory neuroscience	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	MCDB faculty members on the Neuroscience sponsors list	MCDB 360	MCDB 460
Non-neuroscience areas of molecular, cellular, or developmental biology [Research in these areas may be used as <u>a lab in the major, but is not eligible as</u> <u>the topic of a senior thesis]</u>	Any U of M Faculty member with appropriate expertise	Any faculty member in MCDB with the title of Assistant Professor, Associate Professor or Professor.	MCDB 300	MCDB 400

## Faculty eligible to sponsor or co-sponsor Psych 326:

Omar Ahmed	Ada Eban-Rothschild	Richard Lewis	Alexandra Rosati
Brandon Aragona	Shelly Flagel	Israel Liberzon	Gideon Rothschild
Jill Becker	Ashley Gearhardt	Nestor Lopez-Durn	Martin Sarter
Jacinta Beehner	William Gehring	Cindy Lustig	Priti Shah
Adriene Beltz	Richard Gonzalez	Christopher Monk	Natalie Tronson
Thore Bergman	John Jonides	Thad Polk	Daniel Weissman
Kent Berridge	Shinobu Kitayama	Stephanie Preston	Jun Zhang
Jennifer Cummings	Ioulia Kovelman	Patricia Reuter-Lorenz	
Benjamin Dantzer	Ethan Kross	Terry Robinson	

## Faculty eligible to sponsor or co-sponsor MCDB 360 or 460:

Mohamed Akaaboune Sara Aton Josie Clowney Catherine Collins Robert Denver Bo Duan Cunming Duan Monica Dus Richard Hume John Kuwada Sun Eun (Sam) Kwon Kwoon Wong

Haoxing Xu