

PhD Commencement 2023

Program



Welcome

Angela D. Dillard Department Chair Richard A. Meisler Collegiate Professor of Afroamerican & African Studies, History, and in the Residential College



Opening Remarks

Joshua H. Cole Director of Graduate Studies Professor of History

2023 Arthur Fondiler Dissertation Prize

ToniAnn D. Treviño (History)

Mexican Americans and the War on Narcotics: Racialized Policing Practices and Community Responses in the Postwar Texas Borderlands

Committee: Matthew Lassiter (co-chair), Anthony P. Mora (co-chair), Alexandra Minna Stern, Heather Ann Thompson, Maria E. Cotera (cognate)

2023 Arthur Fondiler Dissertation Prize Honorable Mention

Hayley R. Bowman (History)

Ineffable Knowing: Sor María de Jesús de Ágreda in the Early Modern Spanish World

Committee: Kenneth Mills (chair), Hussein Fancy, Helmut Puff, Nancy van Duesen, Megan Holmes (cognate)

Recognition of Graduates and Individual Remarks

Graduates

Essie Ladkau (History)

Life, Death, and the Construction of Space on the Kamo River Committee: Hitomi Tonomura (chair), Christian de Pee, Perrin Selcer, Erin Brightwell (cognate)

Emily Lamond (Ancient History)

Disability and the Ancient Roman Familia Committee: Celia Schultz (chair), Aileen Das, Rafael Neis, Petra Kuppers (cognate)

Amit Sadan (History)

Masters of the Garden: Environmental History and Nation-Building in Pahlavi Iran

Committee: Juan Cole (chair), Kathryn Babayan, Perrin Selcer, Sam White, Cameron Cross (cognate)

Daniela Sheinin (History)

Staging Neighborhood: Making Queens in the Construction of New York's Last Great Park

Committee: James W. Cook (co-chair), Matthew Lassiter (co-chair), Stephen A. Berrey, Joshua Miller (cognate)

Meg Showalter (History)

"Teach Your Children Well": Imagining Interracial Harmony in a Post-Civil Rights Act United States, 1964-1978 Committee: Stephen A. Berrey (chair), Matthew J. Countryman, Matthew Lassiter, Maria E. Cotera (cognate)

Taylor A. Sims (History)

Everyday Women and the English Reformation: Gender and Religion in the Diocese of Salisbury, 1450-1600 Committee: Katherine French (chair), Susan Juster, Helmut Puff, Catherine Sanok (cognate)

Tara Weinberg (History)

Property of the People? Imaginaries of Property Ownership in South Africa, 1900-1994 Committee: Derek R. Peterson (co-chair), Adam Ashforth (co-chair), Deborah James, Rebecca J. Scott, Jatin Dua (cognate) M HISTORY