There may be no red carpet running through the Chemistry Building but we have no shortage of award-winning faculty, students and staff this spring.  Here is a round-up of recent awards.

Undergraduate Awards

In April, the Chemistry Department celebrated the outstanding work undergraduate students contributed to research and coursework this year. A complete list of the awardees and some information about each is on our 2018 undergraduate award page. Chemistry Professor John Wolfe, who presented the awards, said the event is one of his favorites. “It gives us the opportunity to recognize and celebrate the impressive accomplishments of our outstanding undergraduates.”

Graduate Student Awards

In August as part of the alumni-graduate student event, we will have our annual award presentation. Among the awardees this year are four Chemistry students who have received National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowships. They are: William Dean, McCrory Lab; Taylor Soucy, McCrory Lab; Elvin Salerno, Pecoraro Lab; and Jessica Yazarians, Narayan Lab. A Program in Chemical Biology grad student, Hannah Chia, is part of the Biteen and Marsh labs. 

A complete list of awards made to our graduate students is on the graduate student award page.


Ryan Bailey was recently named the winner of the 2018 Benedetti-Pichler Award of the Microchemical Society.

Brian Coppola received an Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring award for all his work with the CESIUM/CALCIUM programs! 

Kristina Håkansson and Brandon Ruotolo have jointly received a Thought Leader Award from Agilent.

Nicolai Lehnert is the 2018​ Harold R. Johnson Diversity Service Award recipient, presented by the University of Michigan.

Stephen Maldonado received the Individual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education  from the College of LSA for his many different effort in this area, including research-based introductory chemistry labs and piloting a Multidisciplinary Design Program concept for chemistry students. He also received the 2018 John Dewey Award! The John Dewey Award recipients are selected each year by the College of LSA from among those recommended for promotion from associate professor to full professor with tenure. Award recipients have demonstrated long-term commitment to the education of undergraduate students.

Anna Mapp received the Imes and Moore Mentorship award from the College of LSA especially for her work with Program in Chemical Biology and her own research group. This award is presented to faculty members who have made exceptional contributions toward recruiting and mentoring graduate students in the sciences from disadvantaged and non-traditional backgrounds.

John Montgomery received an Individual Award for Outstanding Contributions to Undergraduate Education. He was cited specifically for developing CHEM 209, the first Comprehensive Studies Program course for organic chemistry.

Kerri Pratt received the Morgan Award, the only early career award given out by the ACS Division of Environmental Chemistry, as well as the 2018 Eastern Analytical Symposium Young Investigator Award. 

Corinna Schindler has received a Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award!  The award is for young faculty who have created an outstanding independent body of scholarship and are deeply committed to education.


Katie Foster, part of our student services staff, was recognized at the annual LSA Awards ceremony for being selected as a Staff Spotlight winner.

Guenther Kellner was recognized for 20 years of service at the University of Michigan.

Tracey Stephenson was recognized for 10 years of service at the University of Michigan.

Suzanne Tainter was recognized for 40 years of service at the University of Michigan.