This spring, Melanie Sanford, the Moses Gomberg Collegiate Professor of Chemistry in LSA, has been elected to both the National Academy of Sciences. She is one of four scholars at Michigan elected to this honor.

The National Academy of Sciences was established in 1863 by an Act of Congress, signed by President Lincoln, as a private, nongovernmental institution to advise the nation on issues related to science and technology.
Members are elected by their peers for outstanding contributions to research.  

She has also been elected to  the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The AAAS is a prestigious society that recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions in scholarly and professional fields. Her research focus is on developing homogeneous transition metal catalysts for more sustainable production of pharmaceuticals, commodity chemicals and fuels.